1. AhlaCode
  2. Guides
  3. Bank Card Offers and Shopping Codes in the Gulf: How They Work

Guide

Bank Card Offers and Shopping Codes in the Gulf: How They Work

ياWritten by Yousef Alrifai · updated

Most Gulf card offers are themselves promo codes you enter at checkout, so they usually can't be combined with another store code. Each offer has a minimum spend, a discount cap and a usage limit, and many exclude Apple Pay, digital wallets and split payments. Work out the real discount after the cap, then use whichever is bigger: the bank code or the store code.

Types of card offers

When a bank announces a "noon discount" or a "talabat offer", it is usually one of five types, and each type treats store codes differently:

  1. A bank promo code you type into the code box, such as ARB20 at Al Rajhi Bank or FAB10 at First Abu Dhabi Bank. In most cases it takes the place of a store code.
  2. An automatic discount applied when you pay with the card, with no code. An older example: Mashreq's noon Yellow Friday offer (25 to 28 November 2022) applied automatically when paying with an eligible card.
  3. Points or cashback credited after the purchase, such as NBK KWT Points at National Bank of Kuwait.
  4. A welcome voucher for opening a new card, such as the noon voucher Emirates NBD gives new card customers.
  5. A free membership to a delivery service, such as Al Salam Bank's offer in Bahrain: six months of talabat pro free.

Types 3 and 5 don't usually use the code box, so they may combine with a store code unless the terms say otherwise.

Does a card offer stack with a store code?

In most cases, no, and the official terms say so plainly:

  • Al Rajhi Bank (noon offer, January to February 2026): "This offer cannot be combined with any other promotion code."
  • Bank Dhofar (talabat offer, until 31 December 2026): the offer "cannot be used in conjunction with any other offer on the platform."
  • Emirates NBD (noon voucher for new cards): the offer is not valid with any other promotion.

There are exceptions. National Bank of Oman's Visa Infinite talabat terms say the discount can be used with restaurant menu deals, though it doesn't cover service or delivery fees. So the restaurant's reduced price stays, and the bank discount comes on top.

In practice: if you have both a store code and a bank code, you will usually pick one. Work out both (see "Work out the real value") and use the bigger one.

Minimum spend, caps, registration and payment method

Four conditions show up in almost every offer:

  • Minimum spend: for example SAR 100 for Al Rajhi with noon, AED 300 for FAB, and OMR 6 for Bank Dhofar credit cards. The minimum is often counted before the discount, as in the Tabby Card and noon Food terms: the minimum order must be met before any discount applies.
  • Discount cap: a percentage means little without the cap. 50% capped at OMR 3 means the most you save is OMR 3, however big the order.
  • Usage limit: once per customer (Al Rajhi), once a month (FAB), or twice a month (Bank Dhofar and National Bank of Oman).
  • Payment method: Al Rajhi and Bank Dhofar exclude Apple Pay and Samsung Pay, and Al Rajhi also excludes Google Pay and noon Credit. Bank Dhofar requires the full amount on one card and doesn't accept a mix of talabat credit and card. National Bank of Oman requires the card saved as a payment method in talabat and excludes cash on delivery.

Registration: some offers need no sign-up; you enter the code and pay with the card. Bank Dhofar, though, requires a registered talabat account (guest checkout doesn't qualify). Points and cashback offers may need you to enrol in the rewards programme. Read the "how to redeem" part of the offer page.

Examples from official bank pages in each country

These are examples, not a list of current offers. The dates are the offer periods as published on each bank's page. Expired ones are included because they show what typical terms look like.

CountryBank and storeDiscount and capMinimum and conditionsPeriod
Saudi ArabiaAl Rajhi Bank, noon25% capped at SAR 150 for noon One members (ARB25), or 20% capped at SAR 100 (ARB20)SAR 100; once per customer; can't combine with another code; excludes mobiles under SAR 500, noon gift cards and digital wallets25 Jan to 1 Feb 2026 (ended)
Saudi ArabiaAl Rajhi Bank, Jahez20% off Jahez Prime vouchersActivated after entering the voucher code in the app; while stocks last8 to 24 Mar 2026 (ended)
UAEFirst Abu Dhabi Bank, noon10% capped at AED 50 (FAB10)AED 300; once a month; FAB Mastercard credit cardUntil 31 Dec 2026
KuwaitNational Bank of Kuwait, talabat20% off one food or grocery order a month (code Mastercard)Platinum Mastercard credit card; the page gives no cap or end dateNot stated on the page
QatarCommercial Bank, talabatThe page lists a "food and grocery delivery discount" with no percentageWe could not confirm the rate or termsNot stated
BahrainAl Salam Bank, talabat proSix months free membershipVisa credit and prepaid cards; first 3,500 subscribers11 to 31 Oct 2026
BahrainNational Bank of Bahrain, talabat20% off grocery and food ordersVisa Platinum card; the page gives no capNot stated on the page
OmanBank Dhofar, talabat30% capped at OMR 4 (Dhofar4) on credit cards; 20% capped at OMR 2 (Dhofar2) on debit cardsOMR 6 credit, OMR 4 debit; twice a month; one card; no Apple PayUntil 31 Dec 2026
OmanNational Bank of Oman, talabat50% up to OMR 3 per order (INF50)Visa Infinite card; twice a month; excludes delivery and service feesNot stated on the page

Work out the real value

The cap is what decides an offer's real value. Divide the cap by the percentage to find the order size where you get the full benefit:

  • Al Rajhi ARB20: SAR 100 cap ÷ 20% = SAR 500. Above SAR 500 the discount stays at SAR 100, so the effective rate drops. On a SAR 1,000 order it is 10%.
  • FAB10: AED 50 cap ÷ 10% = AED 500. At the AED 300 minimum you get only AED 30.
  • Bank Dhofar Dhofar4: OMR 4 cap ÷ 30% ≈ OMR 13.3. An OMR 6 order gives you OMR 1.8.

Against a store code: if the store code is 15% with no cap and the bank code is 20% capped at SAR 100, then on a SAR 400 order the bank code gives SAR 80 against the store code's SAR 60. On a SAR 1,000 order the store code gives SAR 150 against the bank's SAR 100. The better choice changes with order size.

Remember that some bank discounts don't cover delivery and service fees, as in National Bank of Oman's terms, so calculate on the order value alone.

Card offers with BNPL and digital wallets

One of the most common reasons a bank code "doesn't work" is that you paid in a way the offer doesn't accept:

  • Apple Pay, Samsung Pay and Google Pay: explicitly excluded in the Al Rajhi and Bank Dhofar offers, and National Bank of Oman excludes Apple Pay. Enter the card details directly instead of using the wallet.
  • Split payments: Bank Dhofar rejects any payment split between credit and card and requires the full amount on one card. Paying through a BNPL service usually means your card isn't charged the full amount at checkout, so the offer's conditions aren't met.
  • Store credit: Al Rajhi excludes noon Credit, and Bank Dhofar excludes mixing talabat credit with the card.

Practical steps before using a card offer

  1. Open the offer page on the bank's own website and check the end date and the eligible card type (credit, debit, prepaid).
  2. Work out the cap point (cap ÷ percentage) and compare it with your basket.
  3. Compare it with the best available store code and use the bigger one.
  4. Make sure your basket is above the minimum, and note whether it is counted before or after the discount.
  5. Pay by entering the card details directly, not through a digital wallet, store credit or BNPL, unless the terms allow it.
  6. If the discount doesn't show, don't complete the payment. Check the terms or contact the bank; getting a discount back after the purchase is usually hard.

Questions shoppers ask

Can I use a bank code and a store code together?

Usually not, because the bank code uses the same code box, and terms such as Al Rajhi's forbid combining. Points and cashback offers may combine with a store code.

Why didn't the card discount work with Apple Pay?

Many offers exclude digital wallets, including those from Al Rajhi and Bank Dhofar. Enter the card details directly.

Do I need to register for the offer?

It depends. Most code offers need no sign-up, but some require a registered app account or the card saved as a payment method, and points offers may need enrolment in the rewards programme.

What matters more: the percentage or the cap?

The cap. Divide it by the percentage to find the order size where you get the full discount; above that, the effective rate falls.

Does a card offer work with Tabby or Tamara?

Usually not, because offers such as Bank Dhofar's require the full amount on a single card. Check the terms before choosing to split.

Sources

More guides